Get Fuku’d

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I was not impressed with Chick-fil-a’s chicken sandwich.  When the notorious fast food joint opened on Sunset, I was excited to try it.  I had heard so many friends rave about this freakin’ chicken sandwich.  I figured it must be the best thing that ever happened to chicken.  I didn’t know how it could be so amazing, but was more than willing to find out.

What?  A dry, thin, chicken patty on a mushy little bun with, I’m sorry, only TWO little pickle slices?  If a chicken sandwich was ever whack, it was this one.  Now I know exactly what disappointment tastes like:  a Chick-fil-a chicken sandwich!

When I read a recent review about the five best chicken sandwiches in LA and saw the photo of Fuku Burger’s Chicken Katsu Sandwich, I was intrigued.  So intrigued that I couldn’t get the crispy, saucy, tasty image out of my mind.  It was distracting me, I had to have one.  An hour later I was parked across the street from Fuku Burger in Hollywood.

It was two in the afternoon, so the shiny, long red tables and matching benches were empty except for a few leftover dudes smushing the last cold fries into their mouths with deep laughter.  The sunshine-infused open air was coaxing me over to the stools on the outer edge of the dining room.

I knew I was getting the #6, The Chicken Katsu Sandwich, but I looked at the menu anyway.  Okay, Garlic Fries too.  Duh.  Jasmin, who was adorable with big friendly eyelashes, took my order.

After an intense photo session, I was ready to eat.  The thing looked just as good sitting in front of me as it did in the photo I saw earlier!  The crispy, panko-skinned meat was dressed with Fuku’s “crack” sauce and a sweet cabbage-slaw. It was completed with a yellow puff of a bun.

“How is it?” Jasmin peeped.  “Oh my God, so good!” I exclaimed, probably too loudly as I continued to chew the insanely good tasting bite in my mouth.  All of my expectations were met.  This was a damn good chicken sandwich.  I purposely ate it very slowly, wanting to experience every bite and all of the flavors for as long as possible…I wanted it to last forever.

As we know, all good things do come to an end, as did my Chicken Katsu Sandwich and  Garlic Fries.  Still wrapped in the late afternoon sunlight, my mind was blown and Fuku’d by my genuine satisfaction.

Jasmin and I said our goodbyes and I left hoping to return very soon…they have happy hour!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Uncategorized

Author:The Food Pervert

Tara Redfield, The Food Pervert, is an actress, writer, host and obviously food lover. She started her blog and website, "The Food Pervert," in 2010 after an incredible visit to New York City. Her soul acknowledged a genuine passion for food and a desire to share her experiences with friends and family. She’s been sharing ever since. One of her most exciting experiences living in Los Angeles has been working on the TLC reality cooking show, “The Take Home Chef” with the charming and talented Curtis Stone. Redfield has a true love for cooking, dining, travel and story telling. She continues to spread the food love by visiting restaurants, markets, and food festivals as often as possible and sharing her finds through photos and stories. TV Host Representation: Paul Barrutia Commercial Talent 9255 Sunset Blvd. Ste. 505 West Hollywood, CA 90069 310.247.1431

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Get Fuku’d”

  1. Rex Dart
    January 21, 2012 at 11:21 am #

    I’ve felt the exact same way about the exact same sandwich. Fuku for life!

Leave a Reply

