Eat. Drink. Be Thankful.

Thanksgiving may be America’s biggest food holiday. Right? It’s the one holiday that centers entirely around a meal. The MEAL is what brings us together. We show our thanks through this meal, which has been tradition for years. As a food pervert, I find this fascinating…a holiday about the food.

I love Thanksgiving. I love the food and how everyone comes together to make it complete. Everyone in my family is really good at making certain dishes, one aunt is amazing with classic butter-mashed potatoes, another with grilled vegetables, and I have a pastry-chef cousin that makes the most incredible pies! I give the turkey roasting award to my dad, who cooks with precise perfection in a way no one else I know can. Even if we’re not hosting Thanksgiving dinner, he has prepared a turkey just for our house, no sharing with anyone! Haha…true food pervert fashion.

Every year I like to come up with an original side dish recipe for Thanksgiving, I think about it a month before the big day. I still like to include traditional Thanksgiving flavors, but re-create them in some way. This year I have come up with Gorgonzola and Dried Cranberry Orzo. I had a vision of the strong cheese blending and melting into the tiny pasta pieces and being cut by sweet, tart cranberries. Rich in flavor and texture, this side dish should come together on the palate nicely…at least I’m hoping! I have yet to recycle any of my other past creations such as the apple-bacon cornbread or mango-onion salsa. Maybe when I come up with something truly sensational it will become a permanent fixture at my family gatherings! Could today’s Orzo be it?

It is so important for us all to be thankful not just today, but every day. There is so much to be grateful for. Sometimes it isn’t always obvious, but if you take a minute to go through your daily life, you will find that life itself is such a gift, in the simplest of ways. The air, our health, our family, our friends…everything deserves thanks.

If you want to know some more reasons, here is a great link from The Tiny Buddah, 60 Things to Be Grateful For in Life.

I wish you all a very happy Thanksgiving today and I hope you have enough left-overs for turkey sandwiches tomorrow!

XO,

The Food Pervert

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Uncategorized

Author:The Food Pervert

Tara Redfield, The Food Pervert, is an actress, writer, host and obviously food lover. She started her blog and website, "The Food Pervert," in 2010 after an incredible visit to New York City. Her soul acknowledged a genuine passion for food and a desire to share her experiences with friends and family. She’s been sharing ever since. One of her most exciting experiences living in Los Angeles has been working on the TLC reality cooking show, “The Take Home Chef” with the charming and talented Curtis Stone. Redfield has a true love for cooking, dining, travel and story telling. She continues to spread the food love by visiting restaurants, markets, and food festivals as often as possible and sharing her finds through photos and stories. TV Host Representation: Paul Barrutia Commercial Talent 9255 Sunset Blvd. Ste. 505 West Hollywood, CA 90069 310.247.1431

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Eat. Drink. Be Thankful.”

  1. November 23, 2012 at 8:55 am #

    Love your creativity! I am in charge of side dishes and I always make the same thing and this year, I sort of 1/2 assed it (we celebrated thanksgiving on Tuesday)… and wound up not cooking things long enough so they weren’t exactly the highlight of the meal. Ah ha ha, whoops! Good luck with your ORZO, cannot wait to hear how it turned out.

  2. August 2, 2013 at 12:01 pm #

    I am grateful for you! Thanks Food Pervert for all your advice! I love your blog.

Leave a Reply

