Bonjour Monsieur!

One of my favorite restaurants in the Original Farmer’s Market has always been Monsieur Marcel.  Whenever I go into that market I like to pretend that I’m actually in Paris, you know just doing some grocery shopping.  When I found out that they opened another location on Canon Drive in Beverly Hills I was very intrigued!  Lucky for me, my friend works there!  When he invited me to come in for happy hour this past week it was an obvious oui.  It was also a good opportunity to catch up with my friend Cheyenne who had just returned from a trip to Japan.  She has also spent plenty of time in France, making her the perfect companion for this foodie adventure.

I loved that outdoor seating was an option! It was the right choice for the early kiss of summer in the air.  The inside was much bigger than I had anticipated, enough room for seating and a well-sized market! I really do love the restaurant/market combo.  My friend, who we will call “G” greeted us and we chose our table.Image

We started with white wine and the tuna tartare.  Tuna tartare is a favorite summer dish of mine.  I thought the Monsieur version was up to par with my tuna standards.  The meat was fresh and flavorful.

Image

We were torn between the crostini options, but decided on the Duck Mousse with Salami.  Since foie gras has been outlawed in California, this might be the next best thing!  The mousse was creamy and delicious with the salami sitting on top and went perfectly with the wine!

Image

As a surprise, G brought us out a covered dish, I thought maybe it was mussels, but it was even better, Boeuf Bourguignon!  One of the most authentic french meals EVER.  You are one-hundred percent allowed to judge a french restaurant on it’s Boeuf Bourguignon, I think that Tony Bourdain would agree with me on this one.  It is a signature dish, and if you don’t do it well, you have serious problems.  This serving wasn’t messed up at all…it was fantastic.  Cheyenne agreed and she knows.  The golden noodles sat expertly cooked (not overcooked, not undercooked) on top of tender stewed beef.  

Image 

The experience was lovely and tasty.  The perfect way to break in the summer weather!  If you are going to Beverly Hills anytime soon, I think you ought to stop by and pay Monsieur a visit…and get some pomme frites while you’re at it! 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Uncategorized

Author:The Food Pervert

Tara Redfield, The Food Pervert, is an actress, writer, host and obviously food lover. She started her blog and website, "The Food Pervert," in 2010 after an incredible visit to New York City. Her soul acknowledged a genuine passion for food and a desire to share her experiences with friends and family. She’s been sharing ever since. One of her most exciting experiences living in Los Angeles has been working on the TLC reality cooking show, “The Take Home Chef” with the charming and talented Curtis Stone. Redfield has a true love for cooking, dining, travel and story telling. She continues to spread the food love by visiting restaurants, markets, and food festivals as often as possible and sharing her finds through photos and stories. TV Host Representation: Paul Barrutia Commercial Talent 9255 Sunset Blvd. Ste. 505 West Hollywood, CA 90069 310.247.1431

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Bonjour Monsieur!”

  1. June 19, 2013 at 4:12 am #

    I’ve saw when it opened & have forgotten about it. I will DEF make it in now. I want to try the Boeuf Bourguignon. Thanks for the informative post.

  2. August 2, 2013 at 5:22 am #

    Delicious! Thank yo!

  3. August 2, 2013 at 12:00 pm #

    Ooo la la….

Leave a Reply

