Let’s Talk Turkey…Tacos

Cooking is my favorite form of therapy.  Everything from going to the market (sounds nicer than store, right?) and wandering the aisles looking for inspiration, to slicing the vegetables and rubbing the meat with spices or mixing ingredients together in a bowl…c’mon I’m the food pervert, of course I love getting my hands on meat!  The entire process of creating a meal from start to finish calms me and makes me feel incredibly alive, it’s a lovely feeling.  I also love to put on music, like say my Dean Martin or That’s Amore, Pandora Stations. Then while I’m cooking I pretend I’m in a fabulous classic black and white foreign film.  It’s very sexy.  My working hands and I love it.  Doing the dishes after I’ve eaten everything is not my favorite, but it’s a small price to pay for the rest of the experience.

Image

I was recently inspired to make tacos.  Tacos are one of my favorite meal formations.  Burgers are number one, but tacos are still high on my list.  Any carb that can be stuffed with variations of meat, cheese, and veggies is a no-brainer for me.  I decided to pick up the necessary items for ground turkey tacos.  I really like ground turkey.  If seasoned just right it can be just as rich and flavorful as ground beef, yet slightly healthier!

Along with ground turkey and tortillas (flour, don’t hate), I also got a blend of shredded white and yellow cheddar cheese, black beans (low sodium), pepperoncinis, yellow tomatoes, yellow peaches and limes.  Can you guess what I did with those last four items?  Damn right I made my own salsa!  Sweet and spicy!

These tacos are easy and delicious and will help convince your friends that you know what you’re doing in the kitchen.

Ingredients (4-5 servings)

* 1 pound ground turkey

* 1/2 onion chopped

* 2 cloves garlic chopped

* 1 1/2 peaches chopped

* 1/2 cup pepperoncinis chopped

* 3 tomatoes chopped

* 1 can black beans

* shredded cheese (as much as you want)

* tortillas

* hot sauce (Tapatio for me)

For ground turkey:  Heat pan on medium heat for a few minutes to let it get hot.  Add chopped onions and garlic, let them cook for 2 minutes or so, then add ground turkey.  Season with salt, pepper, and hot sauce if you are so inclined! Stir and simmer for a total of 15 minutes.

Image

Image

For salsa:  Mix chopped tomatoes, peaches and pepperoncinis in a bowl with fresh squeezed lime juice.  Add salt and pepper to taste.  I could have added cilantro to this too, but I forgot to buy some!

Image

Build you tacos:  On an open tortilla add ground turkey, black beans, salsa, cheese and hot sauce…or any other toppings you like that I didn’t mention.  Now you are ready to fold it up and eat it!  Wasn’t that easy?

Image

I hope you enjoy my taco recipe and feel free to throw back a couple of cervezas while you’re at it!

Cheers!

xo,

Tara

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Recipe

Author:The Food Pervert

Tara Redfield, The Food Pervert, is an actress, writer, host and obviously food lover. She started her blog and website, "The Food Pervert," in 2010 after an incredible visit to New York City. Her soul acknowledged a genuine passion for food and a desire to share her experiences with friends and family. She’s been sharing ever since. One of her most exciting experiences living in Los Angeles has been working on the TLC reality cooking show, “The Take Home Chef” with the charming and talented Curtis Stone. Redfield has a true love for cooking, dining, travel and story telling. She continues to spread the food love by visiting restaurants, markets, and food festivals as often as possible and sharing her finds through photos and stories. TV Host Representation: Paul Barrutia Commercial Talent 9255 Sunset Blvd. Ste. 505 West Hollywood, CA 90069 310.247.1431

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

8 Comments on “Let’s Talk Turkey…Tacos”

  1. July 18, 2013 at 2:05 pm #

    You just cannot get enough of your turkey!! 😀

  2. July 19, 2013 at 3:06 am #

    I can’t! It’s true!

  3. Bex
    August 1, 2013 at 7:12 am #

    Yum yum yuuuuuuummmm

  4. Nick
    August 1, 2013 at 8:03 am #

    I need to try this recipe. Thanks so much!

  5. Chloe
    August 1, 2013 at 8:54 am #

    I want to make this!!

  6. stephen visocan
    August 3, 2013 at 2:36 pm #

    I’m definitely going to make these. I already like tacos…but you made them sound so irresistable!

  7. August 6, 2013 at 11:35 pm #

    I love you blog because I am also somewhat of a “food pervert”! I think it’s so original and your recipes sound great. I love Turkey Tacos so I’m definately giving this a try.

    • August 7, 2013 at 6:12 am #

      Thank you so much! Yes, my blog is for food perverts everywhere! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

