The Tasting Kitchen

It’s almost embarrassing to admit that it has taken me until now, Summer 2013, to get into Venice’s culinary must-try The Tasting Kitchen.  My excuse is that “I just don’t get to the West Side very often.” Which is true, and it kills me because I know there are so many amazing restaurants in this part of town.  I really need to make more of an effort to get west I suppose!  (Don’t worry, I have done Gjelina *wink*).

My friend Brooke and I actually hadn’t planned to end up at The Tasting Kitchen at all.  The original plan was to attend a beer tasting in Redondo Beach, but I got my dates mixed up and that didn’t end up happening.  Thank goodness I found out before it was too late!  Brooke lives in Culver City, so I was headed to her anyway.  We decided to have an adventure and head to Abbot Kinney.  On the drive, Brooke was very dutiful and researched the best Venice restaurants.  I suggested The Tasting Kitchen, since I had still never been.  Shoot, we might need a reservation, I thought.  It was still early, so she made the call.  Yes!  They had one table for two at 6!  Slightly earlier than we would have preferred, but we didn’t care.

First of all, the entire staff was fabulous looking.  Everyone was hip and attractive but not in an off-putting way, in a welcoming way.  Like, you want to hang out with these people, not roll your eyes at them.  

We were seated at a window table.  The light was gorgeous, thanks to the architecture.  Clean wooden tables lined the mid-sized dining room, while the bar in the back sang with shaking ice, and stirred glass.  

We each ordered a cocktail for starters.  Brooke, the Baby Bird (lavender tonic, vodka) and myself the Barrel Aged Sour (bourbon, lemon, luli, orange juice).  I LOVED mine!  The adult version of sweetness.  The citrus was the perfect kick.  

Image

Deciding on our dining menu was tricky business and we had to ask our server several questions before making any final decisions.  The final verdict was the Barlotti Marinatta with Lardo Grissini (a bean salad with prosciutto wrapped breadsticks), the Poached Egg with Chantrelles, Black Truffles, and Gnudi, and finally the Lasagnette Bolognese.  Out of these, the poached egg was absolutely my favorite, a true stand-out dish.  The yolk slowly spilled into the other flavors and textures, mixing like magic with the truffle.  Mmm, I am having a moment right now…


Image
The entire dining experience was top notch.  The service, ambiance, and food quality all came together. The Tasting Kitchen was definitely worth my wait!  I look forward to exploring other menu items next time!  

Until we eat again…

xoxo,

Tara 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Uncategorized

Author:The Food Pervert

Tara Redfield, The Food Pervert, is an actress, writer, host and obviously food lover. She started her blog and website, "The Food Pervert," in 2010 after an incredible visit to New York City. Her soul acknowledged a genuine passion for food and a desire to share her experiences with friends and family. She’s been sharing ever since. One of her most exciting experiences living in Los Angeles has been working on the TLC reality cooking show, “The Take Home Chef” with the charming and talented Curtis Stone. Redfield has a true love for cooking, dining, travel and story telling. She continues to spread the food love by visiting restaurants, markets, and food festivals as often as possible and sharing her finds through photos and stories. TV Host Representation: Paul Barrutia Commercial Talent 9255 Sunset Blvd. Ste. 505 West Hollywood, CA 90069 310.247.1431

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “The Tasting Kitchen”

  1. August 21, 2013 at 10:38 am #

    Lets go back if this place is TOP NOTCH! 😉 I would love a poached egg 😉

Leave a Reply

